Finnissy - ‘Pious Anthems and Voluntaries (for the Chapel of St John’s College, Cambridge)

Friday, 28 June 2019 - 6:30pm

The Choir of St John's sings the premiere of Michael Finnissy's cycle of commissions for the Choir, sung in a liturgical context.

The Choir's Composer-in-Residence has worked with the Choir on this nine-part cycle since 2017, working closely with our singers and organists in developing each individual movement. This will be a special occasion that highlights St John's College's support of new music and the advancement of the choral tradition. This work was commissioned by means of the College Annual Fund and the Herbert Howells Organ Music Fund.

Finnissy | Pious Anthems and Voluntaries (for the Chapel of Saint John’s College, Cambridge)

1. Dum transisset Sabbatum [choir]
2. Dum transisset Sabbatum - double [organ]
3. Videte miraculum [choir]
4. Videte miraculum - double [organ]
5. Commentary on ‘Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern’ [flute, violin and organ]
6. Cantata: Herr Christ, der einge Gottessohn [soloists, choir, flute, violin and organ]
7. Commentary on BWV 562 [flute, violin and organ]
8. Plebs angelica [choir]
9. Plebs angelica - Response [grand organ and chamber organ]

Free admission
More information about how to attend this service >


St John's College Chapel
St John's Street
United Kingdom

Share this

Latest release

April 2019

Locus Iste is the 100th recording by the Choir of St. John's College, Cambridge and marks the 150th anniversary of the consecration of St John's College Chapel.

Latest webcast

Recorded on
9 June 2019


  • Responses and Preces: Shephard
  • Psalm 48 (Goss)
  • Antiphon: Non vos relinquam
  • Howells (Collegium Regale)
  • Harvey: Come, Holy Ghost
  • Hymns 140, 408(i)
  • Preacher: The Rev’d Dr Paul Edmondson, Head of Research and Knowledge, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust William Shakespeare
  • Voluntary: J.S. Bach Komm, Heiliger Geist (BWV 651)



Latest news

The Choir of St John’s continues its commitment to new music by premiering a new cycle of works by Composer In Residence Michael Finnissy.

Choral singing comes no better

Fiona Maddocks, The Observer