Welsh Music

Welsh Music

Welsh Music
Director of Music: 
George Guest
Organ Scholar: 
Andrew Nethsingha
Release date: 
February 1988
  • Jeremy Huw Williams (Baritone)
  • Marcus Polglase (Tenor)
  • James Turnbull (Alto)
  • Alistair Flutter (Treble)
  • Benedict Perch (Treble)
Record label: 
Catalogue number: 
Sain 1467 D

Track list

  1. Codi fy llygaid wnaf (Dilys Elwyn-Edwards)
  2. O Arglwydd, dal ni'n ddiogel (Bradwen Jones)
  3. Dwy garol gynnar (tr. George Guest): (i) Ar fore Dydd Nadolig (ii) Myn Mair
  4. Iesu, drud ddifyrrwch dynion (J. S. Bach)
  5. Dwy garol Adfent (Raymond Williams): (i) Greawdwr Nef a Daear lawr (ii) Pan fo'r stormydd garwa'n curo
  6. Y Nefoedd sydd yn datgan gogoniant Duw (Mathias)
  7. Yr Arglwydd yw fy Mugail (Dilys Elwyn-Edwards)
  8. Pum cân gyfriniol (Vaughan Williams): (i) Y Pasg (ii) Mi roddais flodau (iii) "Croeso," medd Cariad (iv) Yr Alwad (v) Antiphon
  9. Dyrchafaf fy llygaid (T. Hopkin Evans)

Share this

Latest webcast

Recorded on
9 March 2024


A Meditation on the Passion of Christ is a service of music and readings reflecting on the Passion of Christ. This year the service features music by Byrd, Purcell, Weelkes and MacMillan, as well as the final piece of a triptych of works written for the choir by Joanna Marsh.

Latest news

Magnificat 4 includes two commissions written specially for the Choir of St John's College; Jonathan Dove's 2022 canticle setting St John's Service, and Judith Weir's 2011 service of the same name.

Winner of the 2008 Ivor Novello Award for classical music, Jonathan Dove CBE has composed a broad range of works and is one of the most successful British composers today. 

Jonathan was kind enough to share insights into his St John's Service, the compositional process, and what we can look forward to in the future.

The commitment, projection and natural energy of this choir have never failed to inspire me

Organists’ Review