Die Schöne Müllerin

Die Schöne Müllerin

Die Schöne Müllerin
Release date: 
January 2022
  • Iestyn Davies (countertenor)
  • Joseph Middleton (piano)
Record label: 
Catalogue number: 

A new recording of Franz Schubert’s seminal cycle Die Schöne Müllerin, recorded by countertenor and former St John's chorister and choral scholar Iestyn Davies, together with pianist Joseph Middleton.

Adapting poetry by Wilhelm Müller, the genesis of D. 795 marks the beginning of the end of Schubert's life; he discovered that he had contracted syphilis sometime in late 1822 or early 1823, and it was in 1823 that he composed this tale of a poet-singer who dies in the aftermath of erotic experience.

The album booklet includes full texts and translations from Richard Stokes, and notes from prominent Lied expert Susan Youens.

Track list

  1. Das Wandern
  2. Wohin?
  3. Halt!
  4. Danksagung an den Bach
  5. Am Feierabend
  6. Der Neugierige
  7. Ungeduld
  8. Morgengruß
  9. Des Müllers Blumen
  10. Tränenregen
  11. Mein!
  12. Pause
  13. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande
  14. Der Jäger
  15. Eifersucht und Stolz
  16. Die liebe Farbe
  17. Die böse Farbe
  18. Trockne Blumen
  19. Der Müller und der Bach
  20. Des Baches Wiegenlied



This is often a beguiling – and well-recorded – album. The countertenor's fans need not hesitate, and adventurous Schbertians might well also want to seek it out for a fresh perspective on this familiar work

Hugo Shirley, Gramophone

More about this release

Navigate releases

Share this

Latest webcast

Recorded on
19 October 2023
  • Introit - Parsons: Ave Maria
  • Responses and Preces: Radcliffe
  • Psalm 25.1-8
  • Readings: Isaiah 40, 1-11, Luke 1, 57-66, 80
  • Jackson in G
  • MacMillan: Christus Vincit
  • Voluntary: Langlais, Acclamations (Suite Medievale)

Latest news

Magnificat 3

The third installment in our Magnificat series has been shortlisted for the choral award, making it the second album to be nominated for a Gramophone Award

The contribution of Andrew Nethsingha and St John's College, Cambridge to the Evensong tradition - both in the chapel and on record - deserves great praise